The Generic (re-)Intro

My name’s Lauren and I’m finally caving in.

As a journalism undergrad, I was told that it was completely necessary to start a blog in my first year of university. I set up various versions of this – beauty, fashion, sarcastic ramblings etc.. and scrapped them all after a few weeks. Since then, I’ve managed to put it off for almost three years – mainly because I’ve never really ‘felt’ like a blogger. Any bloggers I’ve come across are chirpy, preppy and quirky… and for some reason love teacups. I just like teacups a normal amount. I’m more of a coffee drinker anyway, and for that I use a barrel.

But I am a writer. I’ve written creatively since I was able to hold a pencil. I used to make magazines and staple them together, and started my own Tracy Beaker spin-off novel when I was eight (that got scrapped when my mam told me it was copyright and I’d be arrested. I was EIGHT mam). Since I’ve been at uni, I’ve really enjoyed having the creative freedom to just write for writings sake – but it’s factual stuff. We’re told every day that nobody cares about our opinion, it doesn’t matter. I didn’t want to blog because blogging IS opinion, and I didn’t want to fall into the habit of letting what I think or feel seep into my writing.

Regardless, I’ve decided to call bullshit. I’m graduating in a mere few months and if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that people respond to opinion. I can write facts and figures and back them up with academic references all the way to the bank, but that doesn’t make them ‘good’. I need to keep my creative muscle moving, and I think this is the best way to do it.

This blog is going to be a bit of everything – everyday musings, food reviews, rants about stuff that’s narked me etc. It’s mainly just about keeping me writing after uni, when I’m thrown into the abyss of unemployment [[heavy breathing]]. Below are some of my abandoned blog posts of the past, so feel free to check them out too!

Ciao for now,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

