#MYMANI: Barry M Matte Topcoat

So I’ve recently discovered my new favorite thing in the whole world, and it only cost £2.99.

I’m obsessed with having perfect nails. Like literally, I’ll never leave the house without a flawless mani and a chip makes me want to wear gloves until I can safely locate a bottle of remover.

I’m always on the lookout for new inventions in the world of nail varnish, and believe me when I say that I’ve tried it all. Intricate designs? Done it. 3D art? Been there. Textured effects? Done that. That weird black topcoat from Avon that made your nails colorfully crack? I’ve done that too, and the sheer tackyness of it made me want to vom. Seriously, why was that ever a thing?

So when I started to see the new ‘matte’ trend perched on the fingernails of all of the IT girls, I knew I wanted to try it. Granted, unlike them, I didn’t have a celeb budget to execute it with.

Then my favorite nail empire came to my rescue once again. Barry M are pure superheroes in my eyes, and a good 70% of my (too many) nail polishes are courtesy of them.

I purchased the Barry M Matte Topcoat in my local Boots, (and may have picked up another three gorgeous colours in the process #sorrynotsorry) and brought it home.

After prepping my nails – buff, file, shine etc – I chose to start my adventure with another Barry M creation, Mango.
I love orange shades, especially when the weather is picking up and everything’s feeling a bit summery. I’ve tried a few orange shades from BM, and they’ve been great but I’ve found them to have a pink tinge. Mango is BRIGHT, IN YOUR FACE orange that keeps catching your eye. Here’s how step #1 looked:

  

Bright, right? This would have been a pretty great colour to keep on, but I’m having a bit of a moment when it comes to their Gelly range. Because of my obsession with always having my nails dine, they’ve become extremely damaged, and this means that for some reason, the Gelly colours bubbly once they dry and it drives me up the wall. Plus, dur, I had a new toy to try!

Once the varnish was dry, I applied a generous-ish coat of the Matt straight over the top. Within seconds the gloss changed to a gorgeous matt, which didn’t only effect the texture, but also the colour, dulling it in the best way:


Once the top coat was on, it dried surprisingly quickly and I was able to go in with my day. I love when that happens, because every time I paint my nails my brain pretends I need to pee.

The only downside to this product is that it only seems to last for a few days. However, this could be because I’m extremely heavy handed and do the dishes three times a day.

THE BOTTOM LINE: I LOVE this product! It can be used on any nail polish, it’s cheap and it has successfully mixed up my mani.


Have you tried this product? Let me know what you thought in the comments below, or on Twitter at @dimmickhead!

3 thoughts on “#MYMANI: Barry M Matte Topcoat

  1. Your nails look incredible! Love the colour. Love this post would be amazing if you could check out my latest post too xxx

Leave a Reply

